Favourite Five Of 1988

Bonk by Big Pig

Big Pig’s debut album Bonk, made the top five in the Australian album charts

I absolutely loved this band and this album right from the get go. I saw them on the tour for this album and they were brilliant. A great live act, featuring five percussionists and not a guitar in sight. The band featured the sublime vocals of Sherine Abeyratne, who I believe was instrumental in their success. She had previously provided backing vocals for jo Jo Zep and INXS. Sherine’s twin sister, Zan, was a co-lead vocalist in I’m Talking with Kate Ceberano and also performed backing vocals with INXS, Models and U2.

Favourite track: “Hungry Town”

Vivid by Living Colour

Vivid, was the very successful debut album released by Living Colour

Produced by the legendary Ed Stasium and featuring three hit singles, Vivid was a runaway success for Living Colour. The album also featured guest performances from Flavor Flav and Mick Jagger. Retrospectively, the hard rock album is viewed by some critics as a “landmark” for its blend of hardcore, funk and jazz influences and was recommended to me by my dear friend, Paul Culnane. Personally, I just thought it rocked.

Favourite track: “Open Letter (To A Landlord)”, its lyrical content is still relevant today

16 Lovers Lane by the Go-Betweens

16 Lovers Lane was the equally successful follow-up to its predecessor, Tallulah

Although Tallulah will always be my favourite, this was a very fitting and accessible follow-up. It was also the album that would lead to the band’s breakup. The relationship between Forster and Morrison had soured and Morrison’s unhappiness was not helped by having her drums replaced by drum machines. The relationship between McLennan and Brown had gone the other way, with most of the compositions by McLennan on the album ended up featuring Brown as the subject matter.

Favourite track: Although it was almost ruined by its use by a particular commercial television network, “Streets Of Your Town” is still my favourite after a recent reappraisal

Born To Be Bad by George Thorogood & The Destroyers

The seventh album from George Thorogood & the Destroyers peaked at #32 in the US

On the day of its release, I was in my work vehicle and unable to “leave my post” and get to the music store to purchase a copy of “Born To Be Bad”. A friend and colleague came along on his motorcycle and after a very brief discussion, I gave him the cash and he went and purchased it for me. Upon his return we sat in the work vehicle listening to the cassette he had purchased on my behalf. We listened to it twice in its entirety that afternoon and many times more in the weeks and months after. We both loved it.

Favourite track: George’s cover of Roy Head’s “Treat Her Right”

Xenophobia (Why?) by V.Spy V.Spy

Xenophobia (Why?) was the third studio album from V. Spy V.Spy

Despite adoring its predecessors, in my opinion this was the pinnacle of the output from the Spies. Their two previous albums had some fantastic songs, but this was the album that featured nothing but great songs. The album also works as a cohesive whole, although not a concept album as such. If I am in the mood to listen to Blox and co, this is often the album I grab.

Favourite track: “Working Week”

Leave a comment