Favourite Five Of 2004

Once by Nightwish

Once, the 5th studio album by Nightwish and last to feature original vocalist Tarja Turunen

Thanks to a sampler DVD which came with another purchase, I discovered Nightwish by watching the music video for lead single “Nemo”. I was intrigued and was already into symphonic metal largely due to another band that features later in this blog post. The vocals were extraordinary so I wasn’t surprised to discover that lead vocalist, Tarja Turunen, had been opera-trained. She was asked to leave the band after this album which although I was originally disappointed, it just meant I now had a solo career to follow as well as that of Nightwish.

Favourite track: “Dead Gardens”

Seven Circles by The Tea Party

Seven Circles would be the last studio album released by the band for a decade

The Tea Party broke up after the tour that accompanied the release of this album in 2005. It was a surprise to the other band members, as singer Jeff Martin announced his solo career. They had assumed the band was just going on hiatus for a while. In the end that turned out to be the case when they reformed in 2011. Seven Circles was a success for the band, particularly in Australia and their native Canada, and two promotional singles were released. The track “Empty Glass” appears to be some sort of tribute to David Bowie as its lyrics include the terms Major Tom, diamond dogs, starman and golden years.

Favourite track: “Stargazer”

Mach Schau by Hoodoo Gurus

Ending an 8 year gap between albums Mach Schau was released by the re-formed band

Hoodoo Gurus broke up in the late 1990s but reformed in 2003 before going on to record this album. I am sure that I was not alone in thinking the break-up would end the band and was very pleasantly surprised when they got back together. For me, this was their best album in many years and I was very pleased with what my ears were receiving when I took it home on its first day of release.

Favourite track: Album opener “Chop”

Lemuria/Sirius B by Therion

Lemuria and Sirius B were released simultaneously by Therion on 24th May 2004

What’s better than a new album from your favourite Swedish symphonic metal band? Why, two new albums of course! I was blown away by how good both these albums were as there was not a weak track between them in my humble opinion. A work colleague in the late 1990s got me into them and I have been a fan ever since. Lemuria apparently refers to a lost continent much like the mythical Atlantis and Sirius B to the twin star of Sirius A. As one would expect from Therion, the albums’ lyrics feature mythical creatures, deities and religious sects.

Favourite track: “The Blood Of Kingu”

Is There Love In Space? by Joe Satriani

Is There Love In Space? is the tenth studio album by guitar virtuoso Joe Satriani

The ever-reliable Joe Satriani returned with another guitar master class with the release of Is There Love In Space? in April 2004. As always with an artist I know and love, I bought it first day out as I couldn’t wait to hear it. That’s how music used to work, you had to have the physical version in order to hear the material! To this day I still like holding something physical when I purchase music.

Favourite track: “If I Could Fly”

Leave a comment