Favourite Five Of 2013

Dirty Pop Fantasy by Regurgitator

Dirty Pop Fantasy was Brisvegas rockers Regurgitator’s eighth studio album release

Dirty Pop Fantasy was written and recorded in Hong Kong and was streamed two weeks earlier than its official release. The tracks on this album are all quite radically different yet still 100% Regurgitator so they all seem to gel well. The album title does a good job of describing the album’s contents and I enjoyed it right from the first listen. But then I have been a fan since very early on in their career…

Favourite track: “Fuck You Sweetness”

Tubular Beats by Mike Oldfield

Tubular Beats, a remix album resulting from a collaboration between Mike Oldfield and York

For me, this album almost works as a “greatest hits remix” album for Mike Oldfield. When collaborating with York they have used some of the original master recordings, some new recordings of Mike Oldfield and some rerecorded vocals featuring different singers than on the original releases. I think it can be enjoyed as a cohesive whole and even the music video for the remix of “Guilty” works really well. I have been a long time fan of Mike Oldfield and found it interesting to hear his material presented differently.

Favourite track: “Far Above The Clouds”

Asymmetry by Karnivool

Karnivool’s Asymmetry was nominated at the J Awards for Australian Album Of The Year

Coming four years after the successful Sound Awake, Asymmetry was the third studio album released by Karnivool. Fans of the band, like myself, have now been waiting a decade for a follow-up album. The album was a success, topping the Australian albums chart and achieving gold sales status. Two singles were released and the album won the ARIA Music Award for Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album.

Favourite track: Lead single, “We Are”

Black Dog Barking by Airbourne

Australia’s O’Keefe brothers and their bandmates released their 3rd studio album in May

Airbourne are quite appropriately compared to AC/DC, a very obvious influence. Some would go so far as to say that they are almost a carbon copy. My response to that has always been “and your point is…”. I have no problem with bands sounding like their influences and as long as I like what I hear with my ears, who am I to judge?

Favourite track: “Live It Up”

Earth Rocker by Clutch

After a four year gap, Clutch returned with their tenth studio album, Earth Rocker

I haven’t always been a fan of Clutch, but I have liked all their releases from Blast Tyrant onwards and would consider them one of my favourite 21st century musical acts. This is an absolute cracker in my opinion and has been described as heavier and faster than their previous efforts. They had been touring with Thin Lizzy and Motorhead prior to the album’s release and some band members believe this contributed to Earth Rocker becoming a more straight ahead rock and roll album.

Favourite track: “Cyborg Bette”

Leave a comment