Favourite Five Of 2022

Elephants Of Mars by Joe Satriani

Elephants Of Mars is the 18th studio album released by guitar maestro Joe Satriani

The ever-reliable Joe Satriani continues to release new albums for his fans. At this stage of his career he is unlikely to be finding new recruits but he is definitely keeping his existing fans, like me, happy. This is another great collection of instrumentals that showcase his guitar prowess. I always find much to enjoy about each new release and this album keeps up the trend.

Favourite track: “Sahara”

I Am The Moon by Tedeschi Trucks Band

I Am The Moon is a four part album released over four consecutive full moons

Tedeschi Trucks Band are one of my favourite bands of recent years and when I heard they were doing a four album release I was quite excited. When I discovered that the inspiration for the albums was from the same poem the album Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs (probably my favourite album of all time) took its name, my excitement was trebled. When Clapton used it as source material he only took the name Layla. Tedeschi Trucks Band decided there was a whole story there that deserved more attention. Each album is old-school length of 30-35 minutes and each release was accompanied by an album-length music video. I loved the whole thing. Every track on each album was well-considered, beautifully recorded and contains fantastic musicianship and vocal work. Quite simpy, a masterpiece.

Favourite track: The title track “I Am The Moon”

AfterLife by Five Finger Death Punch

AfterLife is the 9th studio album released by Las Vegas rockers Five Finger Death Punch

AfterLife achieved instant success for Five Finger Death Punch, achieving top ten status in Finland, Germany, Australia, Switzerland, Austria, Sweden, the UK and their home country, the USA. Four singles were released from the album that were also quite successful. It is the first studio album released since long-time lead guitarist Jason Hook left the band.

Favourite track: “Welcome To The Circus”

Sunrise On Slaughter Beach by Clutch

Clutch released their 13th studio album, Sunrise On Slaughter Beach, in September 2022

In recent years Clutch can do no wrong for me and I have enjoyed their last few albums very much indeed. This is no exception and I was disappointed with the first copy I obtained. The compact disc was faulty and missing the last two tracks! Heresy! When I received my replacement I was very relieved as not only is it a great album but my favourite track is one of the ones that was missing on the first copy sent to me.

Favourite track: “Three Golden Horns” just for the lyric “jazz music corrupts our youth”

Resist by Midnight Oil

Resist is Midnight Oil’s 13th studio album and was supported by their final tour

I was very impressed by how good this album is. It has the energy and verve of their earlier work and lyrically still displays their forthright opinions on issues that concern them. Although the tour for the album may be their last the band have said that they are still open to recording again in the future. The album debuted at number one in Australia and also achieved top 20 status in Germany and Switzerland.

Favourite track: “Reef”

Leave a comment